Processing through the 5 Stages of Grief in Divorce

Processing through the 5 Stages of Grief in Divorce

“Why can’t you just get over it?”

This is the question my clients tell me they hear constantly once they have decided to leave their narcissistic spouse. The simple answer to this question is that divorce is the death of your marriage and this death needs to be grieved just like you would any other death.

In this video, I explore the five stages of grief and what that looks like during a divorce.

Book a session with me:

Follow me on Instagram @Victoria_McCooey

Follow me on TikTok @victoriamccooey


  1. I already know what IT s going to be like .I lost my brother 2 years ago .IT was not easy .Now I m going through divorce …IT will be difficult but I will be fine ,you just need to go through IT .Things will get better .Thank you for your video❤️

  2. I think I have been grieving my marriage and now pending divorce for 29 years after I experienced him lowering the mask for the first time. I have not trusted him since then. Things have not gotten better… they have gotten progressively worse over the years. I just want the divorce to be over and be free from him. Victoria… you hit the nail straight on! I have experienced everything you described.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.